See our fact sheet to learn more about the building renovation project.
3/1/17 Press release
3/1/17 Photos of project
For over 100 years, Central United Methodist Church, the ‘little church on the corner’, has been an integral part of the Ballston community. We are a hands-on missions church where members are called, transformed and sent back into the world to be disciples. Earlier this year the people of Central UMC took a leap of faith and launched the non-profit organization, the Ballston Station Housing Corporation in order to faithfully respond to God’s invitation to expand capacity to serve the people of Ballston. We envision continuing the legacy of previous generations who wanted worship and education space on our site by transforming our property in order to create new worship space, expanded childcare space for Kinhaven school, new kitchen facilities to support our feeding ministry with A-SPAN clients, and also provide much needed affordable housing directly across from the Ballston metro stop.
Our current sanctuary is built upon what was formerly the Robert Ball, Sr. family burying ground. In 1920 Mary E. Hyatt and Clara E. Ball granted us use of this land “free from all restrictions and requirements or obligations of whatsoeverkind” (Arlington County Deed Book 168:560). A 1922 court order granted CUMC the authority to relocate graves in order to construct our current sanctuary and fellowship hall. No one has records to indicate conclusively whether any remains are on the property currently. We value tradition and want to see the legacy of the Ball family continue to live on for future generations through the vibrant faith community of Central United Methodist Church.